Home > Uncategorized > 08.02.10 – Another message from Peter’s mom

08.02.10 – Another message from Peter’s mom

I can’t express how grateful and humbled we are that over 1900 people are praying for and checking on the progress of our son. Some of you have never even met our Peter. I’d like to take this opportunity to help you get to know him and to show you how God has been walking with us through this deep valley.

Peter graduated from high school in May. As a homeschooling Mom, I was telling people that we had just completed the last event (NCFCA National Speech/Debate tournament) in the last year of the youngest child’s schooling.

His senior year was very uneven: we planned a family wedding, cared for a godly Gramma before she went to be with the Lord, and bore some ministry heartaches–these things put heavy demands on our time. In all this, Peter quietly picked up the needs of others and pitched in to help serve, counsel, and bear the load of people’s burdens. He has a calming effect in stressful situations.

One day, I told him, “Son, I apologize for how crazy your senior year has been. I feel like I haven’t given you or your schooling nearly enough attention. I have neglected you.”

Peter is an easy-going, unassuming guy, with a ready smile. “That’s okay, Mom,” he told me. “I know you love me. I’m just grateful to be a part of yours and Dad’s ministry.”

That thought comforts me now. Peter is an eager student and a quick learner, but his heart has long been to serve the Lord. He would be pleased to know he is serving as a catalyst to draw the Body of Christ together and to inspire Christian service. Daily he has made choices that reveal his love for the Lord.

We’ve been reading through Peter’s Bible aloud some as we take turns sitting at his bedside. Here’s a passage he highlighted: “The Lord is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you.” Psalm 9:9,10

Selah

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

