Home > Uncategorized > Another message from Peter’s mom

Another message from Peter’s mom

From Peter’s Bible this Sunday morning, as I sit in his hospital room, verses I found underlined in the book of Isaiah, with his comments beside each verse:

“‘For a mere moment I have forsaken you, but with great mercies I will gather you.  With a little wrath I hid My face from you for a moment; but with everlasting kindness I will have mercy on you,’ says the LORD, your Redeemer.”   Isaiah 54:7,8 –This is the basis for perseverance

“Why do you spend money for what is not bread, and your wages for what does not satisfy?  Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good, and let your soul delight itself in abundance.”  Isaiah 55:2,3–A Christian seeks greater pleasure than the world.  The world’s problems are that it seeks after too little pleasure–that which does not satisfy.  God is the greatest pleasure.

“All your children shall be taught by the Lord, and great shall be the peace of your children.” Isaiah 54: 12 –Is this me?  Pray for peace and joy in the Lord.

“The work of righteousness will be peace.  And the effect of righteousness, quietness and assurance forever.”  Isaiah 32:17  –Not happiness, but the things that make happiness

“The Lord is exalted, for He dwells on high, He has filled Zion with justice and righteousness.  Wisdom and knowledge will be the stability of your times, and the strength of salvation.  The fear of the Lord is His treasure.”  Isaiah 33:5,6  –good verses to meditate on

“Your eyes will see the King in His beauty; they will see the land that is very far off.”  Isaiah 33:17–The Sands of Time–Emmanuel’s land (a reference to one of Peter’s favorite hymns)  Delectable Mountains –(I think a reference to Pilgrim’s Progress)

” . . . and [Hezekiah} said, ‘Remember now, O Lord, I pray, how I have walked before You in truth and with a loyal heart, and have done what is good in Your sight.’  And Hezekiah wept bitterly.”  –depending on our own goodness doesn’t give us peace or rest

“O Lord, I am oppressed; Undertake for me!  What shall I say?  He has both spoken to me, and He Himself has done it. . . . Indeed it was for my own peace that I had great bitterness; But You have lovingly delivered my soul from the pit of corruption, for You have cast all my sins behind Your back.”  Isaiah 38:14,15, 17  –Pleading the Lord to undertake for us gives peace and joy

“So Hezekiah said to Isaiah, ‘The word of the Lord which you have spoken is good!’ For he said, ‘At least there will be peace and truth in my days.'” Isaiah 39:8 —Where the multigenerational faithfulness thing?  (reference to his exposure to Voddie Baucham’s ministry)  Meditate Isaiah 40–strong chapter

“‘You are my witnesses,’ says the Lord, ‘And My servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He.  Before Me there was no God formed, nor shall there be after Me. I, even I, am the Lord, and besides Me there is no Savior.'” –If you want to know what the Lord thinks of Himself, read Isaiah . . . and tell others.  Against Jehovah’s Witnesses: Jesus is called Savior

“Put Me in remembrance; Let us contend together; State your case, that you may be acquitted.”  Isaiah 43:26 –“Til We Have Faces”  (Peter likes this book by C.S. Lewis)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

