Home > Uncategorized > 09.12.10 – Update

09.12.10 – Update

Every day Peter is given a trach challenge where they cap off the airway to his trach, forcing him to breath through his nose. He has had difficulty doing this the past few days, but today he made more progress than any of the other days. We hope Pete can continually make steps forward in this area so we can bring him home. We don’t know for sure why he has had such difficulty breathing without the trach. We think Peter’s neck muscles are so weak that he can’t keep his airway open in order to breathe through his throat or that he is not conscious enough to hold his head straight.

Because of this slow trach weaning process, we really don’t know when we will be able to bring Peter home. Hospital time schedules always change and we are learning to be flexible with that.

Peter has not been getting much sleep due to a lot of congestion and coughing. It is really difficult on his body because of the trach. As of right now he doesn’t have another infection but he is always at risk.

Here are the things you can pray for:

1) That Peter would get the sleep he needs. The brain’s natural time for restoration is during sleep and Peter hasn’t had much rest due to the congestion that is causing difficulty breathing.

2) Because we don’t know how soon Pete will be able to come home now, we need wisdom in our decision making about his care in this intermediate time between ICU and rehab.

3) Pray that Peter’s congestion will clear up. Coughing with the trach is really hard on Pete, and of course hinders his breathing.

4) Pray that Peter will not get another infection, especially so his body can focus on healing his brain.

5) Pray for our own strength and stamina throughout this process of Peter’s recovery. We are very tired.

6) Pray for continued healing in Peter’s brain.

Thank you.

For the family,
Hope

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through the fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.” – Isaiah 43: 1b-3a

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Laura Laird
    October 26, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Hi

    My name is Laura Laird. I am a friend of Mary-Evelyn’s and she has e-mailed me this morning asking for prayer for your son and the family. I can’t imagine how difficult this time is for you but I am completely amazed by your complete trust and confidence in the Lord and your steadfastness in His word. I was encouraged by reading the entries in your blog. I thank God for people like you who are solid in their faith no matter what the circumstances in their lives. You are an example to the rest of us in how we need to be. I pray in Jesus name for a complete, speedy and side-effect free recovery for Peter. I pray for supernatural strength and peace for you as you continue caring for Peter. I know you do not know me but if there is anything I can do, please let me know. Mary-Evelyn can give you my phone number. I am reminded that the bible says that God can take any stumbling block and make it into a stepping stone. I believe this will be true and quite evident in your case. May Jesus continue to bless all of you as Peter continues to recover. Laura

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

